UC Sixth Annual Graduation Ceremony


On October 16, 2010, the University of Cambodia (UC) proudly hosted its Sixth Annual Graduation Ceremony at the UC Conference
Center, with Mrs. Por Malis, Vice President for Operations, as the Master of Ceremony. A total of 94 students were awarded degrees, with females representing 35 percent of the graduating students.
Of the 94 students, two students earned Associate’s Degrees, 69 received Bachelor’s Degrees, and 23 were awarded Master’s Degrees.

Opening the ceremony with a welcome speech, H.E. Dr. Kao Kim Hourn, President of UC and Adviser to Samdech Techo Prime Minister, extended his congratulations on behalf of Dr. Haruhisa Handa, UC Chancellor, to the students on their achievement and urged them to continue to work hard and contribute back to society. Students must aim to be the best they can be, he said, and they can help make their families and this country stronger by using the skills and knowledge they gain from a university education and their experiences
in the workforce.

  TOP: H.E. Im Sethy, Minister of Education, Youth, and Sports, delivered the keynote.
MIDDLE: Graduates posed with the distinguished speakers after the ceremony.
BOTTOM: Dr. Angus Munro, VP for Academics, presented Mr. Cain Gamalo a recognition award.

H.E. Im Sethy, Minister of Education, Youth, and Sports, delivered
an inspiring keynote address that emphasized the importance of life-long learning and the value of giving back to society. Even though students completed their studies at UC and are celebrating this great achievement, he said, their journey as life-long learners has only just begun. Students must continue to learn so they can improve their lives and make a positive impact in the world.

After the keynote, Dr. Kao recognized 10 outstanding UC staff members for the 2009-2010 academic year and presented them with framed certificates. The recognized staff members were: Mr. Ban Chenda, Mr. By Bunsothearith, Ms. Chem Sophanna, Mr. Hout Norithya, Mr. Kong Sambathrorth, Ms. Ngorn Lyleakina, Mr. Ou Rorthmony, Mr. Pann Lysrun, Mr. Pom Piseth, and Mr. Som Phornarith.
They are to be commended for their dedication and outstanding
performance at UC.

Dr. Angus Munro, Vice President for Academic Affairs, then presented six awards to part-time faculty members in recognition of their excellence in teaching and outstanding contributions to UC. These part-time faculty members were: Mr. Cain Gamalo, Mr. In Sophal, Ms. Khov Manil, Ms. Marilou Dela Sierra, Mr. Sean Thornin,
and Ms. Ty Sopheavy. They, too, are to be commended for their dedication and outstanding performance.
Following the staff awards, H.E. Dr. Kao Kim Hourn and H.E. Im Sethy presented academic degrees to the graduating students in front of their family members and friends, who were eagerly snapping pictures to commemorate the occasion.

Ms. Hok Siem and Mr. Theng Chhorvirith served as student representatives for UC undergraduate and graduate students, respectively,
and closed the graduation ceremony with motivational speeches to their peers.
This will be the last graduation ceremony to be held at the UC Conference Center, since UC will move to its new campus location in Sangkat Tuok Thla in February 2011.

Upcoming Events


Profile | Message | Speeches


Profile | Message | Speeches